ASP.NET 4 Learning Week 2

To write something technical in this blog, I thought it makes sense to blog about my journey learning ASP.NET 4.

For the record, ASP.NET 4 Learning Week 1 isn’t anywhere to be found on this blog, as there wasn’t much to write about relating to the first couple of chapters of book I was reading.  By the way, the book that I’m reading/learning from is Beginning ASP.NET 4 In C# and VB by Imar Spaanjaars, a Wrox programmer to programmer series.

Beginning-ASP_NET-4-in-C-and-VB

Anyway, this weeks learning was focused on creating a Base Page, Themes, and Skinning.  I never got to learn about Themes before, because I originally programmed in ASP.NET 1.1, Themes got introduced in 2.0.

I remember that was the real problem with 1.1 and Visual Studio .Net 2003.  It wasn’t really suited to developing nice web pages.  I use to have to use Dreamweaver side by side to get the look I wanted.  So I’m really positive about Theme in the new ASP.NET.  Imar wrote a good piece on using Themes with CSS.

I also enjoyed learning about Skins, and I can see the benefits immediately for Developers, and an area I imagine is useful on larger projects.

Lastly – and off topic – I found this book I really want to read, called Being Geek: The Software Developer’s Career Handbook by Michael Lopp.  I’ve still got a big list of books to get through this year, so I probably purchase it around the summertime.

One Response to ASP.NET 4 Learning Week 2

  1. Congratulations, you are going much faster than me!

    I am still reading/learning basic syntax and find myself falling asleep in the book all the time 😦

Leave a Reply

